Museum van Loon
Mon: 11 am - 5 pm
Wed - Sun: 11 am - 5 pm
- Still in original unity
- 17th-century double canal house
- Great collection of family portraits
- Unique coach house
- Louis XV styled interior
17th-century canal house with a large collection of beautiful family portraits
This magnificent canal house was built in 1672 by architect Adriaen Dortsman. The original treasures of the Museum van Loon, located in the heart of Amsterdam, are its garden and the coach house, which can still be viewed in their original state.
This striking house has been home to multiple famous Dutch individuals. One of its first residents was Ferdinand Bol, Rembrandt’s most famous pupil. In 1884 Willem Hendrik van Loon, co-founder of the Dutch East India Company, and his wife received this house as a wedding gift from Willem’s father, Hendrik van Loon. The Van Loon family opened their house to the public in 1973. The house is still in possession of the Foundation Van Loon.
The 17th-century canal house has different period rooms, a beautiful French garden laid out in formal style and a large collection of family portraits. The collection of more than 150 family portraits tells their family’s intriguing history in a beautiful way. The oldest portrait dates back to the 16th century.
Besides the paintings, the rooms also offer fine furniture and precious silver and porcelain from different centuries. The canal house was redecorated in a fashionable Louis XV style in the 18th century. This style has remained largely intact during the last centuries, still evoking the splendour of the Golden Age.
Discover the amazing collection of family portraits and find out about the intriguing history of the Van Loon family in this original 17th-century canal house.