Museum Willet Holthuysen

© Henk van der Eijk

Information

Contact:

Herengracht 609
1017 CE Amsterdam
+31 (0)20 523 18 22

Opening hours:

Mon - Fri: 10 am - 5 pm
Sat - Sun: 11 am - 5 pm
Holidays: 11 am - 5 pm

Closed on:

1 January
30 April
25 December

Highlights:

  • 17th-century double canal house
  • Elegant Louis XVI style interior
  • High-quality art collection

17th-century canal house on world heritage canals

This beautiful double canal house, located on the Herengracht, is the only canal house in Amsterdam that is still fully decorated with all of its original furniture and art.

The Museum Willet-Holthuysen is known for the beautiful 18th and 19th-century rooms, such as the magnificent ballroom, a garden room and a dining room which was redecorated in an elegant Louis XVI style. These rooms and other features of the house are a true testimony of the former residents’ rich life. At the back of the double canal house lays a formal French-styled symmetrical garden with two sandstone sculptures of Flora and Pomona.

In 1855, the house came into the possession of the wealthy Holthuysen family. Three years later Louisa Holthuysen and her husband Abraham Willet inherited the house and were its last occupants. In 1895 Mrs Willet-Holthuysen left a will saying that after her death, the house and its contents were to become the property of the city of Amsterdam who were to use it as a museum. As a result the Museum Willet-Holthuysen opened its doors in 1896. The Museum Willet-Holthuysen is managed by the Amsterdam Museum.

The extraordinary art collection contains many pieces painted by Abraham Willet himself. In addition the collection includes drawings, prints, glassware, furniture, sculpture, silverware, plates, books and other paintings from the Golden Age onwards.

A unique opportunity to explore one of the last houses of its kind along the charming Amsterdam heritage district.